Does Ebay care enough about sellers?

United Kingdom United Kingdom
Kudos: 15
Does Ebay care enough about sellers?
5 Feb 2012
I have been selling on Ebay for over ten years and am fed up about the lack of care and protection Ebay give to their SELLERS ( their moneymakers)
This is a recent letter I sent to Ebay about their evaluation systems.
"Thanks for the long awaited reply and for telling me what I already know. However, as always at Ebay you seem to miss the general point. Postage and PACKING? what Ebay and the general public fail to take into consideration is the PACKING part. I have very good feedback about packing, if you bother to look and that is because I take care about wrapping the goods safely in bubble wrap or protective padded bags. But bubble wrap and large jiffy bags are expensive so the postage costs may be slightly higher to accommodate this. On the most part my customers accept this and give me very good feedback, however, it seems only the the odd few buyers need to mark one down to effect the way Ebay work out your ridiculous dashboard statistics. THIS IS WHAT NEEDS LOOKING AT AND ADJUSTING. I pose a question to you, if a few of my buyers have marked my postage low why have they still giving me good feedback? My answer is they are very happy that there item has arrived safely and quickly. Generally some of the PUBLIC are very poor in filling in forms so having to tick an evaluation system like Ebay has can sometimes be rushed and given not much thought. I think a 4.5 or 4.6 overall evaluation out of a possible 5 stars (which is my current evaluation on P/P) is more than acceptable and Ebay should reconsider this unfair system. As mentioned before there is very little protection for the sellers, you only seem to care about the buyers. However, you don't continue collecting the 20+% overall costs from the sellers which in turn have made EBAY one of the biggest companies in the world. Come on EBAY how about PROTECTING the sellers more?"