Sniping - an issue again?

Poster
Andy
Kudos: 11,637
Sniping - an issue again?
3 Oct 2005
Sniping has raised its head again, following the launch of mobile bidding tool Unwired Buyer, and rumours that eBay is adding an API call for bidding - reported in AuctionBytes - which could pave the way for faster, more reliable sniping.

The practice of automated bidding in the last seconds of an auction has been around for years, but still causes much anger amongst buyers beaten before they could re-bid and sellers who blame it for low auction prices.

What do you think about sniping?

[Last edited: 3 Oct 2005]
Andy Geldman, Web Retailer
Please follow on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn or Google+
West Michigan USA United States
ProBizTeam
Kudos: 140
Re: Sniping - an issue again?
3 Oct 2005
I've been sniping on eBay for over seven years. Originally, I used a PC-based application that required my computer be on, connected to the Internet and the software running. Not the best solution.

I've tried a number of other sniping solutions and have been using eSnipe (www.esnipe.com) for almost three years. It's reliable (a Ten), simple to use (a Seven) and has saved me thousands of dollars over its low cost to use.

It's not a big surprise that eBay would build an API for bidding. eBay makes more money on completed auctions than listings that never result in a sale. Anything they can do to stimulate the buying process results in additional profits.

Sellers who are angered by sniping are generally those that are too cheap to use eBay's "Reserve Price" function. Or they are people for whom eBay is their "life." As a "seasoned buyer," I've learned to screen sellers for a potential negative reaction to sniping. If they've ever left negative/neutral feedback due to a buyer sniping one of their auctions, I simply don't bid.
United States United States
jwalkertx
Kudos: 75
3 Oct 2005