listing HTML question...

Poster
in2sky
Kudos: 20
listing HTML question...
8 Dec 2005
Hello!

I'm posting here about listings and the HTML code used for descriptions.

Here's the deal: I have a shop on ebay and want my listings to look good. All the templates I've seen so far, both free and paid ones are simply, in my opinion, rubbish. As a graphic designer, I'm able to do much better, especially if I want to design a real identity for my listings. Not just that but creating my own template also separates me from others.

I use Dreamweaver to create the HTML and Illustrator/Photoshop for the images.

Now the problem: LINKS!
Yes, the html code, colums and table colors, CSS for styling my text and so on is no problem at all. But linking the images is a problem. I host my pictures on my own website,

The problem when creating the html is that the links for the pictures are local links, not definitive links from the website. I've found it's quite an effort to link pictures using the online address.

So my question, is there any other way to link a picture on a HTML file ? The easiest way in order to being able to simply copy, when the listing is finished, the html code that I'll then paste into ebay?

THANKS alot.

Mapi.
Herts, England United Kingdom
Andy
Kudos: 11,616
Re: listing HTML question...
8 Dec 2005
Hi in2sky , welcome to the site

I use Dreamweaver for designing eBay listings too. I simply create the listing with local image SRCs then do a find-and-replace to change them to point to my website. I can appreciate that this might be unwieldy if you sell lots of different items (but you can do find-and-replace across multiple files in DW).

Another possibility is using the BASE HTML element, but I doubt it would work in an eBay listing.