Developing Channel Management Software

Poster
countingfish
Kudos: 50
Developing Channel Management Software
25 Oct 2014
Hi there,

My name is Josh and I am a software developer and new member of WebRetailer! In addition to being a programmer, I have always tinkered with selling/flipping things on ebay, amazon, craigslist and in the real world (flea markets). So, I recently decided to combine my two interests and have started to develop some software that helps me inventory, manage and list my stuff in an automated fashion. Looking around and through the forums here there seems to be many, many players in this space, but lots of people seem dissatisfied. So, I wanted to reach out to the forums here and see if I could get some insight from some seasoned web retailers about what they would like to see in a channel management system, as well as what works and what doesn't in the current ones.

Thanks!
United States United States
WebSeller
Kudos: 41
Re: Developing Channel Management Software
28 Oct 2014
@countingfish
I would love to have a discussion on this. I have an outdated technical background, but have been considering doing the same thing you are. I have been selling online for 15 years, and have been through many selling platforms. I agree that there is a strong need for good multichannel software.
countingfish
28 Oct 2014
@WebSeller

Hey there,

Thanks for writing! I would love to discuss this more.

One take away that I have gotten from my research after I initially posted this is that any software should be simple and intuitive to use. That may be a tall order given the complexities of automating your listings, but I bet there is room for improvement.
Supplier
Derry United Kingdom
repricerexpress
Kudos: 185
29 Oct 2014
I'm unsure how much market research you have done here but the channel management software market is highly competitive with a number of big players.