What do do when customers dont receive their order

Poster
kokturkster
Kudos: 68
What do do when customers dont receive their order
5 Jan 2015
Hi, I am a newbie to e-commerce and recently I have had customers tell me that they have not received their order. From my side I refund them and close the case.

I have submitted a few claims on the Royal Mail website but you need proof of posting. I have to say that my local post office is not very happy if I go with an armful of packages and ask for proof of posting so I tend to drop them into the post box.

Is there a solution or should I just accept that at the end of the day there will be x amount of loses because of packages getting lost via Royal mail?

The value of the items I am currently selling doesn't make it worth paying extra for package tracking or signature upon delivery.

Thank you in advance for any advice
Australia Australia
Billy Bunter
Kudos: 43
Re: What do do when customers dont receive their order
6 Jan 2015
It is always a gamble sending parcels to your buyers without tracking and I understand when there is so little profit after all the fees and costs involved. I have had buyers advise similar, and one of the ways I was advised was to photograph or photocopy the envelope with the buyers name address and stamp on it.

Another seller advised that you write to the buyer and say " it has been reported to the Post Office,
they will investigate and may have to contact you to make further inquiries". ( They claim that one
mysteriously often prompts the purchaser to advise the parcel has turned up!)

I am currently waiting upon a parcel posted in Shanghai, China on the 24th of November, and arriving in our country on the 27th, then mysteriously disappearing. I am numbered in the 600,000 for lost parcels or missing parcel enquiries!

Hope this helps in some small way.
United Kingdom United Kingdom
AgathaB
Kudos: 21
6 Jan 2015
@kokturkster