Small Business, Specific Needs

Poster
momof8
Kudos: 40
Small Business, Specific Needs
19 Jul 2006
Hi, I'm a former computer programmer with the capacity/proclivity to read manuals and implement software solutions. (In other words, I'm a computer geek that enjoys reading code and doesn't always need a WYSIWYG editor.) I have been using Turbo Lister for my auctions because I like to do my own HTML. We run 10-40 sales a month, unique and specialized items, and rarely repeat any items.

I'd considered upgrading to TL2, but the reviews are awful! However, I'm concerned that eBay will discontinue its support for TL, so I'm trying to find something that will work for me before I'm SOL...

The other issue is that my husband would like to become more involved in the business. He is NOT a computer person and really doesn't like to use one at all. So I would like a program that will let him log in, keep track of listings, figure out shipping needs, and perhaps create some simple listings at some point, without a bunch of weird code or obscure links to follow.

I like TL because it's a desktop solution, so the server being down doesn't affect me. I'll be going DSL soon. I host my own pictures now, but when we go DSL, that may change.

Our items typically sell in the $100-$500 range, with some selling for more, and not many selling for less.

I contact all my customers personally because of the nature of the items (many vintage musical instruments and electronics). I use PayPal. I don't (at this time) need automated emailing, feedback, or invoicing. I do wish I had a service that would integrate with DHL for shipping quotes!

With eight children , I don't see us expanding the business to more volume per month. It's hard enough to keep up as it is! I *can* see us getting into more specialized, higher dollar items.

Do you have any recommendations for us? Thanks much! This is a great website!
Herts, England United Kingdom
Andy
Kudos: 11,616
Re: Small Business, Specific Needs