Notebook selling

Poster
Johnnyg
Kudos: 20
Notebook selling
5 Oct 2016
Hello, I am a beginner to selling products, and we started with notebooks. We want to sell returned notebooks but all of them came to us their hard drives removed compeletely. What do we have to when we want to sell them online now? Should we try to install the original pre installed OSs? If so how do we do it?
Nottingham United Kingdom
Bigian13
Kudos: 2,245
Re: Notebook selling
5 Oct 2016
@Johnnyg

Unless you intend selling to the trade, a notebook without a drive is about as much use as a chocolate tea pot.

If the drives have been removed it would indicate that either the drives were faulty, they have been part exchanged, or are part of a company lease hire agreement. If it is the first, then there may be other problems as well. If it is either of the latter two, the chances are that they are old spec models.

Depending on the type / model, most people want a notebook as a smaller, lighter easier to use version of their laptop / desktop. I can not see the average buyer wanting to mess about sourcing a drive, fitting it, and then having to install an OS, especially as most people would not know where to start.

Your best bet would be try to offload them on sites such as eBay, but make sure that they are clearly described as incomplete / spares or repair, otherwise you will end up with even more problems from buyers who do not realise what they are getting.

The rules may be different in the US, but in the UK if you buy a product to sell on you are technically classed as a business no matter how small the turnover. You then have to abide by the rules for business sellers which may include warranties, returns etc

You may also be surprised how little this type of item is worth on the open market.

Unless you are tech savvy I would have thought a different line of product would be better to start with.

[Last edited: 5 Oct 2016]
E-commerce , love it or hate it, that's why we are here