Amazon FBA - Newish Seller Seeking a Mentor / Advice

Poster
ccamisas
Kudos: 15
Amazon FBA - Newish Seller Seeking a Mentor / Advice
17 Jul 2019
Hi guys. First time posting on this site.

In the way of background, I've been selling on Amazon for about 6 months in my spare time while working a full time job as a technology consultant. I'm clear on the logistics of finding and launching an FBA product. I went the JumpSend/Viral Launch == Alibaba = Freightos route as I'm sure many did before me. My first manufacturing run was not exactly profitable, but it has picked up steam in the last month or two in terms of sales volume, and so I decided to place and additional order this month. Far and away, my main underestimation from a cost perspective, when comparing my financial projections to the actuals that have come in, was advertising (Amazon PPC only). This is what I've identified as the primary driver of my unprofitability thus far.

Anyways, I'm looking for advice/mentorship from a successful Amazon seller that has been down a similar path to mine. Maybe you've even been able to quit your job as a result of your success (that's my real goal in this, let's be honest). Maybe you've just been able to turn a profit - I'd love to hear from you, too. Really - I'll take advice from anybody who thinks they have something to offer.

Specifically, I'm hoping for help in the following areas:

What is the best strategy for receiving product reviews? I have implemented several email campaigns soliciting reviews, but my review rate is approximately 4% of orders.

What are the best overarching strategies for Amazon PPC advertising? I ran an automatic campaign for some time, which I analyzed and revised down to a Manual campaign, using only the best keywords. However, my ACOS is consistently higher than I need it to be (about 50-60% on average, whereas for my products - I need 30%).