ShipBob

ShipBob Logo
40% overall rating
ShipBob Logo

Sellers with low SKU counts and a high volume of sales. ShipBob is competitively priced for sellers who ship multiple items per order.

Service Details

ShipBob is an order fulfillment service that provides shipping and logistics solutions to eCommerce businesses. ShipBob caters to businesses of all sizes.

PlatformSaaS (Cloud Web App)
Customers SupportedWorldwide

Media

Pricing & Trial

Price Range
Contact the supplier for a quote.

 Trial Length: A trial is available

Integrations & Compatibility

DetailsIntegrations
Amazon SitesAmazon.com
eBay SiteseBay.com
Alternative MarketplacesWalmart.com
Multichannel SoftwareSpark Shipping
Stitch
Zentail
Shipping & FulfillmentBackerkit
CartRover
DHL
FedEx
OrderDesk
Shippo
ShipStation
UPS
USPS
Carts, Payment & POSBigCommerce
Shopify
Squarespace
WooCommerce
Other IntegrationsLime Light
QuickBooks

User reviews

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Sam

Sam

2021-02-21 05:42:28

Cost my business thousands of dollars

What where the positives?

I moved to Amazon FBA

Any negatives?

Everything about their company

Summary

Worst company ever. They will cost your business a lot of money in the long run. They are also charge nearly 2x the price of Amazon FBA and other fulfilment services. They constantly got our products lost and shipped out late. Terrible support. Don't do business with Shipbob.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Nancy Warner

Nancy Warner

2021-01-26 05:43:16

Run.

What where the positives?

Still working on that....

Any negatives?

Their price per pick was literally triple what I can pay to house & hire & ship all my own product. They are hard to contact, have circular customer service, hidden fees, hidden fees & hidden fees, are non-responsive, a confusing WRO system, slow to follow up, fees, and their model "is designed to work if you execute the steps perfectly"... which means they have set you up for failure.

Summary

This has been a terrible experience and I would not recommend Ship Bob on any level. I was looking to outsource the easiest part of my business and they made it the most complicated and the most expensive. Bad idea. They make me regret outsourcing.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Madison Musgrove

Madison Musgrove

2020-12-10 05:47:13

HORRIBLE- Especially for small businesses

What where the positives?

Fast customer service

Any negatives?

Everything else

Summary

Shipbob promised one day processing time. Orders were in processing for up to 4 days. They charge your account for irrelevant transactions. I was charged $100 for wros that were created in order to resolve a uro. This is senseless because no new packages were sent to the warehouse, yet I was charged for receiving. After I reached out to customer service and had an almost week long conversation, I was refunded via credit on the shipbob dashboard. In addition to this $100 I was charged storage fees before the month was over( first month of using their Services) . Orders are also completed incorrectly. My customer ordered one item yet received five. Overall the services are not good and I would stay away. Shipbob has a large number of businesses saying that they used shipbob to scale, but I do not see how this is possible when looking at the service that I have received.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

MM

MM

2020-09-02 05:49:22

some of my inventory mysteriously went missing at shipbob

What where the positives?

No

Any negatives?

Read below

Summary

some of my inventory mysteriously went missing at shipbob, and they held on to the rest for over 2 weeks when I wanted to remove it from their warehouse. I’ve finally received my inventory and they basically dumped my products in a box with broken edges and a strip of tape. Some of the inventory is made of paper and now damaged! I didn’t think my experience could get any lower with shipbob but here we are.
 Here’s snippets of my gross experience with shipbob and what you can expect:
 - Firstly, if I did not have some inventory available at another fulfillment center, shipbob would’ve stopped my business for an entire month!
 - shipbob claimed my missing inventory is because their warehouse doesn’t know how to count. Not kidding! They said that sometimes they just count incorrectly. This was during a recorded call on August 14, 2020. 
 - I requested credit for the mmissing inventory and after receiving my inventory and seeing how careless they’ve handled it, I doubt that is gonna happen. UPDATE: they are predictably taking forever to respond. First they said they wouldn’t credit items not listed on my customs invoice, then they read my review and said I should list which items were damaged so that they can credit them. When I asked why they suddenly don’t need an invoice - crickets, no response (email from September 1, 2020)
 - I asked for a video recording to see the state of my inventory because I absolutely no longer trust them. They denied the request. - Hidden fees! They told me kitting would cost $1.10 per item and charged me $2.50 without informing me of the cost change. When I asked about this - no response! (email from August 21, 2020)
 - They also charge your card without your authorization. You just wake up to notifications, no explanations. 
 - Customer support is a hit or miss leaning very strongly towards miss. 
 - Your emails will be ignored. 
 - Your calls will end with a promise that someone will follow up. They won’t
 - You will spend many, many, many hours calling and emailing, asking people to do their job. 
 - Your orders will not be sent out on time.
 - Your kitting will never be ready on time.
 - I was going to do a pre-order sale through shipbob and did a test for 5 (F I V E) orders with shipbob and it took them over 2 weeks to ship FIVE orders.
 - When I brought up how awful their service is I was told that, “as we work with over 4,000 merchants unfortunately this does happen rarely from time to time”. ( email from Aug 14, 2020) Sooo am I automatically just part of the ‘whatever, this happens group’!?!? Will YOU be part of that group?
 - You have to pay $500 for an “implementation specialist” who will respond (maybe/if they feel like it) days later with no solution to your problem because they are ‘busy with [more important] back to back meetings' (email from Aug 3, 2020).
 - Do not become hopeful when they offer to set up a call for you with management’, it literally just means someone in customer support with a fancy title will show up to a call. They will do nothing. 
 - “Management” only shows up/is available for a call when you’ve voiced that you’re leaving the company. 
 - Once you speak with “management” you’ll meet a new layer of shipbob incompetency. 
 - “Management” will have a call with you, and then ghost you. Literally never talk to you again. ***Do your research!*** - Read the real reviews not the bots. - Read the real blog posts not the paid media articles. - Read the comments that they keep deleting on their social media accounts. - Reach out to others who have used shipbob and predictably no longer do. - Do not be fooled by reports of growth and investors pouring money into the company. Anyway, if you choose to still proceed, good luck, it will absolutely not end well.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Ryan

Ryan

2020-08-18 05:51:44

Run away! They "seemed" cheaper, but tons of hidden fees & mistakes.

What where the positives?

Nothing. I regret every moment of working with them. They have consistently overcharged me (they once charged me for a 10 lb package when it was actually less than 1 lb). They once sent out over 50 packages WITHOUT THE PRODUCT. They claimed I'd pay ~$1 for kitting my product, but actually charged me ~$2.50.

Any negatives?

Literally everything - from quote to pulling your inventory out. I'll lay out our issues chronologically 1) They quoted me 50 packages without our actual product. Whats crazier is that many (maybe all?) of the packages were "audited" because they were putting my product upside down in others. 5) They made getting our inventory out a living heck. To add salt on our wounds, they made pulling inventory out as hard as possible.

Summary

IF YOU DONT CHECK LITERALLY EVERY DETAIL THEY MAY OVERCHARGE YOU. They did for me. Please, please. If you are considering ShipBob, read the reviews. TRY CALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE BEFORE YOU BUY. What's that? You cant find their number publicly? Oh maybe thats a mistake. Or maybe its intentional. Imagine having to email 50+ customers telling them their orders were shipped without a product. Imagine having to check every single bill from them to see how they've decided to screw you this time. Whatever you think you are saving by using ShipBob, consider the other costs of repairing the customer relationships they will potentially ruin. If anyone is starting a ShipBob Survivor's therapy group, please count me in. If they did not materially damage my business, I would have found their incompetence comical.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Anthony Procopis

Anthony Procopis

2020-08-14 05:52:30

Super expensive shipping and handling and overcharging in warehouses.

What where the positives?

The tech and interface are fine

Any negatives?

Super expensive shipping and handling and overcharging in warehouses. Very slow inventorying. I have been charged $90 in one warehouse for 38 units and $40 for 64 in another for the same units! If you think that does not make sense, you'd be correct! I also sell on Amazon FBA, Amazon would is about 300 to 400% cheaper.

Summary

Bad, because no one likes to be overcharged and taken advantage of.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Frederic

Frederic

2020-08-04 05:53:30

Please Avoid

What where the positives?

Slick looking software interface and website. We were sold on this but we have learned the hard way through countless emails, phone calls, thousands of dollars lost that we should not judge a book by its cover.

Any negatives?

Outsourced customer service email and call center, possibly in India, means issues take at least a week to solve with back and forth, sometimes they can't understand your problem. Even with a US based call center, they are stationed outside of the actual fulfillment center so all they can do is tell you they'll check in with the ops team and get back to you. Inventory sent to warehouse took about 50 days to become in stock. The earliest products came online around 2 or 3 weeks, needless to say this was an extremely stressful period where we had to deal with frustrated customers and issue many refunds. ShipBob needs to be upfront about approximate stocking times. When the warehouse make errors (and they do quite frequently), they refuse to acknowledge it. One time we noticed the fulfillment/shipping price was twice what it was supposed to be and after bringing it up they emailed back a few days later giving a URL link to a help article and essentially telling us we were wrong. Only after persistently insisting we were right did they notice the mistake and issue a credit for difference. No apology made. Another time warehouse sent wrong product to our customers, and they outright rejected issuing a refund. If you make a mistake, you'll be charged many fees/hourly/charges for their time and effort.

Summary

If ShipBob makes a mistake, you'll lose money, lots of time, with no refund or credit and be left with no recourse short of filing a lawsuit. Terrible. Many hidden fees and charges (they have your card on file but good luck getting them to correct their mistakes), customer "service" team are defensive and rude, incompetent at best. Your brand reputation will take a hit, because they take days to fulfill, often ship wrong product, and so much more. Big headache. Please, do not make the same mistake. ShipBob knows small business owners are unable/unwilling to make a legal challenge because of the time and expense. AVOID, and use at your own peril.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Michele Johann

Michele Johann

2020-07-21 05:54:18

Looks good to start, but mistakes galore

What where the positives?

The online system is informative for the most part, but any positives are not worth all the other hassles.

Any negatives?

Nothing goes as planned: wrong packing box, elevated freight cost, poor packing, mispacked goods, missing goods, long check in process for delivered goods.

Summary

I would not recommend their services, I am actively searching for, and think I found a solution.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Sameer Jalali

Sameer Jalali

2020-07-07 05:54:59

Over promise and under deliver

What where the positives?

No positives. Do not work with them. They are good for nothing. Pathetic leadership

Any negatives?

Their sales guys did a wrong sell and upon complaining I got asked to move my inventory away from their warehouse. Overcharged me for shipping and did not care to resolve my issues and concerns. Shipped damaged goods to my customers. We lost a lot of money with them. Not worth the time and money. Pathetic leadership with no customer service.

Summary

Not worth the time and money.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Jacobo Hernandez

Jacobo Hernandez

2020-05-18 05:56:54

STAY AWAY

What where the positives?

Worst fulfillment warehouse ever DO NOT USE THEM UNLESS YOU WANT TO HAVE YOUR AMAZON METRICS AFFECTED. They have super slow handling time, orders are never shipped on time. Warehouse logistics are a mess... inventory doesn't get scanned for weeks. Seriously, stay away from them at all costs.

Any negatives?

HORRIBLE SERVICE

Summary

STAY AWAY

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Rachel Kaplan

Rachel Kaplan

2020-05-15 05:58:28

Would give 0 stars if I could

What where the positives?

The one bright spot was a stand-out customer service rep named Ashley who was actually helpful and did everything she could to fix these myriad issues. Unfortunately, most issues were beyond her control.

Any negatives?

Fulfillment Center Issues: - It is not uncommon for their fulfillment centers to sit on orders, causing delays, and then falsely claim such delays are carrier-related. This is true for regular ground orders in addition to expedited orders, and we lost several customers who paid for 2 day, 3 day, and overnight orders that were late because ShipBob delayed processing them. I should note that all orders I'm referring to met ShipBob's order import cutoff time deadlines. - They unilaterally increased our box sizes without letting us know, which increased the cost of postage significantly. Our product fit in smaller, standard boxes they already had in stock. It was never explained why they made those changes. They eventually returned to the smaller box sizes and reimbursed us for the overcharges, but it was a major headache that took weeks to resolve. - On more than one occasion, ShipBob sent our customers products from a different company who also used them for fulfillment, instead of sending our customers our products, which they ordered. I have no idea what happened to our inventory or whether they notified these other companies of this issue. - It took them 6 weeks to process returns, and that is not an exaggeration. Meaning, if an item is returned to the FC, they notified us 6 weeks later that it was returned. Apparently they only decided to put a returns policy in place in Mid-March of this year, 6 years after opening their doors as a company. Technology and Rate Issues: - They bait-and-switched us on affordable 2 Day shipping. It took getting one of the company's founders involved for them to fulfill the promises they made, and contracted for, regarding giving our customers access to affordable 2 Day shipping. - They consistently overcharged us for fulfillment, requiring us to do several audits and request credits for being overcharged. These exercises took hours and involved a lot of back-and-forth each time. In some cases, it wasn't until we threatened legal action that they credited us for these overcharges. Overall, we were credited several thousand dollars for overcharges, which is not insignificant. - They offered us "real time rates" for overnight orders that were not actually tied to real time rates; it was a complete misnomer and false promise. This resulted in us under-charging customers and having to cover the difference, which turned profitable sales into losses. - For a reason they still cannot explain, they removed all shipping options and rules, and instead put in place a $20 ground option (our product retails for $39.95 and weighs 6 ounces). Our conversion rate plummeted from 4.6% to 1.3% during the time that our shipping options were affected. We were not the only customer affected by this issue, and because ShipBob never got to the bottom of why it happened, they could not assure us it wouldn't happen again. Issues Cancelling: In the end, ShipBob reimbursed us for a lot, but not everything, and it took nearly 2 months for them to get us our final refund. When we expressed our desire to leave, their SVP of something set up a call, presumably to try and retain us, but then she missed our call and didn't reschedule. After 7 excruciating months, we left ShipBob. Given the horrible experience we had, we spent months researching and interviewing other fulfillment centers before moving. We are now working with Our Serviceworks, which I *highly* recommend as a fulfillment center partner.

Summary

If you are looking for a fulfillment partner, ShipBob is a horrible option. In our experience... They lied about their rates and technological capabilities. They fought with us when we brought issues to their attention. Their failures resulted in hours and hours and hours of our time being devoted to something we thought we were outsourcing. Worst of all, we lost customers due to delayed orders and faulty tech related to shipping options. We had significant issues with ShipBob since we very first began working with them, and every time one issue was solved, another occurred. Below are the issues we encountered, and based on other reviews and of their own admission, I know we are not the only company to face issues like these.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Dennis McNeely

Dennis McNeely

2020-04-02 05:59:30

Bailing out on ShipBob

What where the positives?

Onboarding was simple and painless, and the dashboard is fairly intuitive.

Any negatives?

We experienced several pain points: - Fragile shipments (compact fluorescent bulbs in this case) were onboarded as fragile, yet were sent out in poly bags with insufficient padding. Almost immediately, we got customer complaints, with pictures showing the shattered bulb and the poly bag. We finally resolved the problem, but not before we lost points with the online sales platform and the customers, and lost profits on those sales. - Shipments went out quickly for the most part, but some got hung up for days somewhere in process - leading to cancelled orders or re-shipments, and more lost profits. - When transferring cases of product from ShipBob to FBA to prevent running out of stock at Amazon, we were charged pick and pack fees for each item in each case. We confirmed we'd only be charged for each case (and not each item within those cases) prior to shipment, but ShipBob charged for every item, regardless. We were able to sort out the issue eventually, but shouldn't have had to wrestle with it. - ShipBob offered to move our inventory to their new warehouse in Florida, indicating our shipping costs would be reduced. After we authorized the move, they lost our inventory at the Florida receiving dock. Their solution was to require that we provide our manufacturing invoice, offering to reimburse just that expense. Their "operations error policy" specifically excludes reimbursement for any other sunk costs, such as shipping, duties, and other overhead, which nearly equal to the cost of manufacture. It's a bit harsh to ask your customer to absorb those expenses when you created a problem and had control of both ends of the problem.

Summary

We hung with ShipBob for about a year in the hopes we'd get past the hiccups, but it was not meant to be. We're moving on, and won't be looking back. I've elected to spend a few minutes with this comment, in the hopes others will avoid having to do the ShipBob dance.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Brad Chick

Brad Chick

2019-12-03 06:00:20

Stay away from Shipbob - you will lose your money and your sanity

What where the positives?

Initially helpful - but that didn't last long.

Any negatives?

Read below...

Summary

I had used Shipbob for 3 years, and suffered far too long. Initially they were ok to get my account going, but not long after their sheer incompetence and untrustworthiness became apparent. My company sells simple ecommerce products, often in multi-packs. Their TOTAL INABILITY to simply pack a 2-unit or 3-unit multi-pack into a prepackaged unit and have it shipped as requested is staggering. I would have telephoned over 5 times with just one such situation, and it took hours before I even received a call back. And then "that" call was from a warehouse not involved in this order. They routinely overcharge; orders are placed into OVERLY excessive packaging for one order, then into different "appropriate" packaging for the next, exact same order. At times I have been invoiced $11 for an order that should have cost $5-6. This happened as often as not. The web-interface is clunky and buggy. Only just now has a "merchant care" telephone number been setup. It's hit or miss as to whether someone answers. Emails requesting help, particularly refunds to your account after their overcharging routinely go unanswered, or if answered, then unresolved. Typical answer - That order was too long ago, we did an audit, but unfortunately we cannot refund your money." And then there is this doozy - Overcharging $1400, yes! USD $1400 and then delaying in the refund of that money. "We'll credit your account" - they say. I don't want a credit, I want that money refunded. You don't keep 'my'

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

je11

je11

2018-02-11 06:06:25

Shipbob is a great solution for direct to consumer brands

What where the positives?

The software is very simple to use and get setup. Their network of fulfillment centers in the country makes it a very cost effective solution to offer 2 day shipping throughout the country.

Any negatives?

Keep adding features! Reporting and analytics is a big piece of functionality which you can keep improving to add value to the business.

Summary

Account management team is superb in answering questions and adding value when we need it.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

LadySeller

LadySeller

2018-02-11 06:05:28

Simple 3PL that works.

What where the positives?

Super simple to use. Quick start helps a lot, I advise you connect your store from the beginning.

Any negatives?

Would like API documentation for stores that are not on your integration list.

Summary

The best part about ShipBob is that they offer something easy to use and all you need to do is send them your inventory. They don’t complicate the process. The support is perfect so far. Good team and very responsive.

User rating

Features

Support

Ease of Use

Daily Cardinal Alumni Association

Daily Cardinal Alumni Association

2018-02-11 06:01:54

ShipBob is a great solution for fulfillment!

What where the positives?

Easy fulfillment! ShipBob's expertise means that I don't have to figure out which boxes or packing material to use for particular orders. All of our ceramic mugs arrived safely!

Any negatives?

It would be nice to have 2-day shipping for around the same cost as standard to compete at market with sellers on Amazon.

Summary

The support was really prompt and friendly! They helped with a returned to sender and were able to update an address and get the order right back out to our customer!

Write a Review

Your email address will not be published. Reviews are subject to our Reviews Policy and Terms of Use.
A short summary, max 100 characters.
1 = missing many
5 = complete
1 = very bad
5 = very good
1 = very complicated
5 = very easy
A summary of your overall impressions, and if you would recommend this product or service.
Please enter the correct answer below as a way to filter out some bots.

This site uses cookies to enhance user experience. See cookie policy